5 Sales Lessons from Dr. Seuss

18 May

Dr Seuss

In March my daughters celebrated the birthday of Dr. Seuss all week at daycare and I learned 2 things after reading these books over and over.  First, all the books by Dr. Seuss have real world application and are insightful (Not just “Oh, The Places You Go.”) and second, we have way more Dr. Seuss books in our house than I could have ever imagined.

A couple insightful things I learned along the way:

“I meant what I said, And I said what I meant…An elephant’s faithful One hundred percent!

Horton Hatches the Egg – this is straight forward, be the partner that follows through and commit to what you say and you put yourself ahead of 40% of your industry competitors in sales

“I’m sorry to say so but, sadly, it’s true  that Bang-ups and Hang-ups can happen to you. You can get all hung up in a prickle-ly perch.  And your gang will fly on. You’ll be left in a Lurch. You’ll come down from the Lurch with an unpleasant bump. And the chances are, then, that you’ll be in a Slump.  And when you’re in a Slump, you’re not in for much fun. Un-slumping yourself is not easily done.”

Oh The Places You Go – your job will not always be easy and un-slumping yourself is a challenge but you will work hard and get out of this “waiting place.”

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

The Lorax – Get involved and make people around you better.  Be the doer

‘The more that you read, the more things you will know.  The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

I Can Read With My Eyes Shut! – Continue to learn, curiosity is your friend.  Wisdom is a gift

Say! I like green eggs and ham! I do! I like them, Sam-I-am! And I would eat them in a boat! And I would eat them with a goat. And I will eat them in the rain.  And in the dark. And on a train. And in a car. And in a tree. They are so good so good you see!

Green Eggs and Ham – for those not familiar with the book Daniel tried to convince Sam to eat Green Eggs and Ham and through curiosity and persistence Sam does try them, and finds out he likes them.  If you believe that you have a solution that works continue to asks questions and get our partners to try our solution.

While I enjoyed the books, after reading many of these for the 10th time it starts to really sink in how applicable this is to my life.

Leave a Reply

